OFFICIAL: Bryan de la Fuente returns to Cal United Strikers FC!

Published Apr 6, 2021


The veteran defender comes back to Orange County to provide experience and leadership


ORANGE COUNTY, CA – When Bryan de la Fuente left California United II in 2018, he won two UPSL National Championships in his final season. Today, he returns with the determination to help Cal United Strikers become NISA Champions.

"I am so excited and thrilled to be back with California United Strikers FC," de la Fuente reflects on signing. "Making the decision to come back to a team that has always felt like home was an easy one. I am excited to get started and help the team achieve greatness."


The Texas native comes back after spending a season in the USL Championship with Las Vegas Lights FC. Like fellow veteran Chris Klute, de la Fuente has experience at the highest level, having made his debut with Chivas USA back in 2010. He also appeared for the US U-20 team, having made 7 appearances including a win the 2010 Milk Cup in Northern Ireland.


De la Fuente went on to challenge himself in Armenia, spending several seasons in the first division over there, before returning home and joining up with California United FC II.

"Bryan is an exceptional player," says Cal United Strikers President Michael Collins. "He was a former Cal United capatain and led us to several titles, and we're looking forward to his return."




De la Fuente in a scrimmage vs 1904 FC (right); De la Fuente in training (left).


Fans can stay up-to-date on all club news through or by following the club on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

The following 22 players are currently under contract for the 2021 season:

GOALKEEPER (3): Steven Barrera, Jean Antoine, Mitch North

DEFENDERS (9): Chris Klute, Aydan Bowers, James McGhee, Gonzalo Salguero, Xavier Fuerte, Michael Bryant, Brady Treinen, Garrett Hogbin, Bryan de la Fuente

MIDFIELDERS (5): Duncan Capriotti, Evan Waldrep, Shinya Kadono, Gustavo Villalobos, Minjae Kwak

FORWARDS (5): Christian Thierjung, Omar Nuño, Tony Lopez, Shane Kaemerle, Darwin Lom